Repellent- Friday flash

English: Stegomyia aegypti (formerly Aedes aeg...

English: Stegomyia aegypti (formerly Aedes aegypti) mosquito biting a human. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

REPELLENT

 

By Melissa L. Webb

 

 

 

John walked into the kitchen and set the package of paper plates on the counter. He glanced over at his wife, who was busy preparing a large salad. “Are we almost ready?” he asked as he slipped his arms around her.

Kelly looked up at him. “Yeah, we just have to barbecue the steaks. Everything else is ready.”

He smiled. “Our house-warming deck party will be perfect, thanks to you.”

“You give me far too much credit, John,” she said, kissing him lightly. “But I’ll take it.”

John laughed as he walked over to the fridge. “I bet you will.” He pulled out a few six packs and started to put them in a cooler. “Oh, that reminds me. Did you get the repellent?”

“Yes, I got the repellent. This is me we’re talking about.”

He looked at her. “You sure? I don’t want any of our guests bitten tonight. That’s all people talk about. ‘I went over to so and so’s house and ended up with bites all over me.”

Kelly sighed. “Will you relax? Everything will be perfect. I’ve lit those special candles and torches and placed them all over the backyard. Those nasty creatures won’t set foot near our party.”

John frowned as he rearranged the bottles in the ice. “I sure hope so. Those bites are painful. I hate those blood suckers.”

“Here,” she said, handing him a spray bottle. “I even got some to spray all over us. There won’t be any biting tonight. I promise.”

He lifted up the ice chest and headed for the backyard. “I just hope the stuff really works.”

Kelly followed behind him, carrying the bowl of salad. “It’s already working, John. See for yourself.”

They stepped out through the sliding glass door and onto the wooden deck.

John squinted out past the flickering flames into the darkness edging around their backyard. Rows of hungry looking monsters stood around, held back by the fumes put out by the burning repellent. Their fangs glistened in the light as their glowing red eyes locked on to the couple on the deck.

“See, I told you,” Kelly said with a laugh. “You worry too much. There will be no biting tonight. This vampire repellent works like a charm.”

© 2011 Melissa L. Webb

5 thoughts on “Repellent- Friday flash

  1. Pingback: The #FridayFlash Report – Vol 4 Number 6 | Friday Flash

  2. Pingback: Admire- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

Leave a Reply

