The Ones Who Can’t Be Seen -Friday Flash

THE ONES WHO CAN’T BE SEEN

By Melissa L. Webb

 

I saw them for the first time last week, or rather didn’t see them. Two of them stood in my driveway, their eyes boring into me.

It was all I could do not to lock myself in my house and hide, praying as I did, that they would vanish from existence.

I don’t know why they exist or how long they’ve been here. All I know is I can sense them now. What changed in me, I cannot tell you. One minute I was just your regular everyday waitress and now I’m a receptor of the Ones Who Can’t Be Seen.

That’s what I call them because no one knows they’re there. I mean how could we? We’ve been programmed not to see this kind of stuff since we were children. And let me tell you: our parents were right to keep us oblivious to these things.

I can barely live now. The feeling that they’re there, watching and waiting for God knows what. My skin burns when they’re around. It’s like their aura leaks onto mine. It’s the worst feeling I’ve ever had.

And they are everywhere. I never would have guessed there was so many of them. They sit in the empty booths at the restaurant where I work. They don’t even move when a customer sits down by them. They just stare while the people dine shoulder to shoulder with them and don’t even know it.

They’re in the aisles of the supermarkets we shop and they are in the empty seats at the theaters. They even stand and wait in the restrooms we use. I feel their eyes follow me as I drive home at night, their presence watching from the sidewalks.

I made a terrible mistake yesterday. I let them know I could sense them.
I screamed at them to leave me alone. I told them that I didn’t care what they were as long as they stayed away from me.

I don’t think anyone has ever known about them before. I could feel their shock as they began to watch me closer.

That was where I went wrong. Now they gather on my yard. Droves of them have come. Their auras pulse loudly, trying to drown me in them.

They have surrounded my house, as more still come. They squeeze their bodies against the walls of my home and pound their fists into the wood turning my house into a death drum of sorts.

I know they will come for me. It’s only a matter of time. One will find a crack somewhere and they’ll slip in, making their way to my room, where I huddle now in my bed.

I think I am alone in my room now, but their aura has covered everything and I can’t be sure. I’ll try to ignore that faint breeze as I lay here and pray that they forget about me.

©2010 Melissa L. Webb

24 thoughts on “The Ones Who Can’t Be Seen -Friday Flash

  1. Wow… another great piece of flash here. How do you do it? So much horror in such a little package… and it’s not even like anything has to happen… it’s the structure and the idea…

    Perfect.

    Jim
    http://tinyurl.com/2d7jz8v <— my #fridayflash (if you care to read)

  2. Oh I did enjoy this. I like how you left so much to the imagination – it’s implied that they’re horrendous looking, but you leave that up to us! Genius. I also really liked this line, “They squeeze their bodies against the walls of my home and pound their fists into the wood turning my house into a death drum of sorts.” Very evocative.

  3. Enjoyed the feather-light handling of ghosts. I’ll accept these visitors as real. Out in the world or just in the speaker’s head, I’d rather ask: what do they want?

  4. I enjoyed this. Reminds me of the stories that Mediums recount about how it all started with them. Seeing those who can’t be seen and them becoming aware of being seen. The medium struggles to do away with the ability, ignore it, goes mad, or steps up to the plate as a medium.

    Lots of potential here for a full on story.

  5. it does make one think twice about those shadows we see and dismiss as a trick of the eye. But the bathroom bit was just disturbing! Great piece!

  6. Please tell me they’re not in the water with me when I swim. Now I have one more thing to be creeped out about. Great images

  7. I call them the Unseen, myself. Nice way to build suspense and tell a story about the beings of the Otherworlds. It leaves one wondering if they are really there or if it’s paranoia. Sometimes I wonder that myself. 🙂

  8. A wonderful intro to the world of horror that just opened up for your protagonist. I think this story has legs.

    What you have works great for a flash, and leaves this reader interested in reading more.

    Well done.

  9. This gave me chills. and left so much to the imagination as to what ‘they’ look like. You know that feeling of being watched?? I guess it’s the ‘Ones who can’t be seen’.
    Loved it

  10. I don’t doubt for a minute they’re real and that she’s actually seeing them.

    Your writing is smooth and powerful, and the creep factor exceeds normal limits. I have bonafide chills.

    Excellent story.

Leave a Reply

