Deals With Dragons- Friday Flash

Dragon, by Hokusai.

Image via Wikipedia

This is an excerpt from a work-in-progress.  Enjoy.

Deals with Dragons

By Melissa L. Webb

The dragon looked at her, a little amused by her boldness.  “So, why are you here?”

The girl held her ground.  “I have come to tell you that your kind is no longer needed.”

“No longer needed?”  The dragon looked at her, his eyes burning into hers.  “You have no idea as to what you need.”

The girl glared back at him.  “Look, too many innocent lives have been taken because of you.”  She glanced downwards.  “I can bear it no longer.”

The dragon laughed as smoke trickled from his nose.  “As you remember, my dear, I only did what you asked me to.”

A tear formed in the corner of her eye.  “I know!  I shall bear these deaths a thousand times, but I forbid this to happen once more!”

“You forbid it?” the dragon snorted.  “Do not cross me, little girl.  Leave now and I may spare your life!”

“No!  I lost my brother because of you,” she screamed.  “You will die a hundred deaths for that.”  She picked up a sword lying by her feet.  Her brother’s sword.  She raced towards the dragon.

The dragon’s tail swung out and knocked the sword out of her hands.  It flew into a dark corner of the cave.

“I thought you were the one!  You could have been the Priestess of the Dragons.  The world could have been your playground,” the dragon growled.  “You are just like the rest of the human race.  Pathetic and weak!”  His massive paw reached out and struck her.  She flew back and struck the wall.  “I will kill you, wench.”

The girl crumpled to the floor.  She looked up, dazed, at the dragon.  “You have already killed me,” she muttered before she sunk back to the floor.

©2010 Melissa L. Webb

12 thoughts on “Deals With Dragons- Friday Flash

  1. Things aren’t looking good for our heroine… Very interesting excerpt. Raises lots of questions about this deal that she had with the dragon and how her brother was killed. Intriguing glimpse

  2. Another ending I didn’t see coming, thought she was going to kick his scaly butt. The descriptions were very visual, was quite filmic in a way, I could really imagine the scene as if watching it.

  3. This stands alone well. It quickly builds an interesting character and I find myself rooting for her. I don’t know all the history here… so I may find myself rooting for the wrong side. Nicely done.

  4. Any story in which one can talk to dragons is a great one in my book! Loved the visual details you doled out as they talked. Love the title too.-Tiffany

Leave a Reply

