Memory Flush- Friday Flash

PET scan of a normal human brain

Image via Wikipedia

MEMORY FLUSH

By Melissa L. Webb

I woke up this morning convinced I’d forgotten something. I knew I had. I could feel it in my bones. All day, I kept waiting for the memory to return to me. It wouldn’t though, no matter how hard I tried to excavate it.

Whatever it was, I knew it was important. Things don’t eat at your soul if they’re not. What was left behind during the night had been very important to me. Maybe even the most important thing in my life.

I looked around my apartment. It was cold and hollow, as if someone had gutted out the very heart of it, and maybe they had. I couldn’t remember. I went to work and suffered through the motions, all the while searching for something to trigger a memory. Was the forgotten thing here? Could I be so upset over something at work? Somehow I doubted it.

I returned, alone, to my apartment. I had no place to go, no one to see, so I settled in front of the TV. Sadness brimmed in me as I searched the channels. I don’t see myself as a couch potato. I thought there was something I was supposed to be doing, someone I should be doing it with, but I couldn’t think of what it might be.

Is that what I have forgotten? My real life. Is it possible someone could have taken it from me, leaving me with nothing but a nagging feeling?

Frustrated, I turned off the TV, heading to bed. I know I have forgotten something, but I’m too tired to think anymore. Tomorrow, I’ll wake up and start the worry all over again.

 

© 2011 Melissa L. Webb

 

14 thoughts on “Memory Flush- Friday Flash

  1. It drives me crazy when I know I’ve forgotten something. I think this would be excruciating.

    Very “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind”.

    Stacey

  2. So long as you know you’ve forgotten something you are okay. It’s when you forget you’ve forgotten you need to worry. Of course then you won’t remember that you don’t remember…

    I just made my head hurt.

  3. This feels like the start of a long descent to the end for the character and so is very much more than just these words. For me, the power of the story lies in this unwritten chapter.

  4. Pingback: Her Royal Highness- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  5. Pingback: Stranger In The Night- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  6. Pingback: The Pool- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  7. Pingback: Take Backs- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  8. Pingback: Echo Park- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  9. Pingback: The Forgotten- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  10. Pingback: Haven- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  11. Pingback: The #FridayFlash Report – Vol3. #10 | Friday Flash » Friday Flash

Leave a Reply

