Stranger In The Night- Friday Flash

Staring eye

Image via Wikipedia

 

STRANGER IN THE NIGHT

By Melissa L. Webb

I saw the man again last night. He stands at the end of the driveway, staring up at the house. He never moves. He just stands there and stares.

This is the third time I’ve seen him in the last week. This time I called the cops. They sent someone by, but I knew they wouldn’t find him. He left as soon as I took my eyes off him.

He seems to be here for only one thing and one thing alone. Me. He doesn’t want anyone else brought into this. I don’t know why that is, it just is. What I can’t figure out is what he wants from me. What have I done to draw his attention? I live a quiet life. I bother no one. I keep to myself. So, why does this man stand and stare at my house? What has made me a target for this stranger in the night?

It’s getting late. Night is growing closer. I’m afraid. I know the man will be back and I fear it may be tonight. I should leave, but I know it won’t matter. He’ll find me where ever I go.

And the next time he comes, I know he won’t just stand and stare. I feel the certainty of that deep in my bones. Next time he’s here, he’ll come right in.

 

© 2011 Melissa L. Webb

20 thoughts on “Stranger In The Night- Friday Flash

  1. Good and spooky Melissa! I immediately thought of the guy in Halloween, (Michael? I get them confused nowadays), standing in the yard behind the clothesline. That image has always spooked me.
    Now I’ve got the creepy-crawlies and am looking over my shoulder…

  2. So glad I am reading this in the daytime as I sit next to an open window. This racks up 10,000 Championship Creepy Points.
    Adam B @revhappiness

  3. You’ve built tension and foreboding so well in this piece. May I make a suggestion? Could you write a second piece, but from the outside-man’s POV? I would love to see him, at the same moment, and what he is thinking.

  4. This sort of story gives me the shudders. It puts me in mind of a sort of poem that I once heard, that also gives me the shudders.

    As I was walking down the stair
    I saw a man that wasn’t there
    He wasn’t there again today
    I wish that man would go away.

  5. Pingback: The Pool- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  6. Pingback: Take Backs- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  7. Pingback: Echo Park- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  8. Pingback: Midnight Fixin’s At The Zombie Bowl-O-Rama- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  9. Pingback: The Forgotten- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  10. Pingback: Haven- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  11. Pingback: Terrible Mistake- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  12. Pingback: Secrets-Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

  13. Pingback: The #FridayFlash Report – Vol 3 Numbers 12 & 13 | Friday Flash » Friday Flash

Leave a Reply

