Where Do You Get Your Ideas- Friday Flash

This was a guest blog post that I wrote but it didn’t end up being used.  I thought I’d share it with you anyway.

Enjoy!

Line art representation of a Quill

Line art representation of a Quill (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

WHERE DO YOU GET YOUR IDEAS?
By Melissa L. Webb

Where do you get your ideas?
This question makes me cringe every time I hear it. Not because I tire of readers asking questions, because I don’t. I can’t. Readers are the lifeblood of what I do. There is nothing better than interacting with them and sharing a little glimpse into my world.

What makes this question so cringe-worthy is the fact I don’t have an answer, and that bothers me. I wish I did. How great it would be if I could actually say there was a giant idea well in my backyard where I spend every evening fishing for the biggest and brightest ideas.

But, alas, I am from the real world and nothing is that easy.

When it comes down to the heart of it, the truth is I don’t know where ideas come from.

I view writers as part archaeologists, part schizophrenics, and part gods. A scary combination if you think about it. Sometimes we see something which sparks a thought in our minds, and then we poke, scrape, and dig at it, never giving up until the earth falls away and leaves us with a glimpse of a world different than ours. A world we want to know more about.

Other times a voice creeps into our brain. It whispers and it cajoles, willing us to see them as something real; as someone alive and breathing. Someone we must listen to because they have a story to tell and we are the only ones equipped to share it with the world.Writers end up listening because, to not, would surely mean madness.

Or more madness than we currently own.

There are some nights we spring up in bed, awakened from a deep slumber with a thought clearly formed in our minds. We scramble out of bed, blindly reaching for a pen and paper, because if we don’t get it down right then, it will evaporate by morning, disappearing back to the dreamland it came from.

And sometimes thoughts will come from nowhere. Usually when we least expect them. They pop up, and for that moment, take our breath away. It’s perfect even though we didn’t even know we were looking for them in the first place.

I have gotten ideas for book all of these ways. I don’t know where they came from originally, and I suspect I probably never will. I’m only a scribe in this game of words. As long as someone keeps whispering in my ear, I’ll keep writing.

© 2012 Melissa L. Webb

5 thoughts on “Where Do You Get Your Ideas- Friday Flash

  1. Pingback: The #FridayFlash Report – Vol 4 Number 21 | Friday Flash

  2. I think you’ve coined your answer perfectly, to the age old question. The only description you’ve missed is when an idea comes, seemingly fully-formed out of the ether, only to dissolve into an empty thought upon closer examination.

  3. Pingback: Friday Flash: The Introduction | Story Treasury

  4. Pingback: Rise And Shine- Friday Flash « Ramblings from a Word Weaver

Leave a Reply

