Rise And Shine- Friday Flash

RISE AND SHINE

By Melissa L. Webb

alarm clock, bought from IKEA

alarm clock, bought from IKEA (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Cracking open an eye, I roll my shoulders, stretching out my muscles. They have tightened as I slept; this old body stiffening every chance it got.

My alarm clock went off. Time to wake up. Yawning, I try to silence the thoughts running through my head. I know I need to get up. I have things I need to do. People are counting on me to arrive on time.

But the call of sleep is lulling me back, seducing me into its warm embrace. I am not ready to move. I want to be lazy and slumber once again, dreaming of the days of old.

I snuggle deeper. No. It is not time. I’m not getting up. Closing my eyes, I wait for sleep to claim me once more.

I don’t care if there is a prophecy. I don’t care if it is my time to arise. This old God is sleeping in. The world will just have to wait for a new prediction.

Maybe next year.

Maybe I’ll feel like destroying the world then.

 

© 2012  Melissa L. Webb

 

3 thoughts on “Rise And Shine- Friday Flash

  1. Pingback: The #FridayFlash Report – Vol 4 Number 30 | Friday Flash

  2. Pingback: Night Rounds- Friday Flash | Ramblings from a Word Weaver

Leave a Reply

